Viewing Entry History

Version as of 21:15, 20 Mar 2019

to this version.

Return to Version archive.

View current version

Credential History Overview

The Credential History is used to keep a record of all creations, movements, and modifications of the Entries created within the Pleasant Password Server. It allows Users with proper permissions the ability to easily view all versions of a given Entry. There is also the ability to restore the Entry information from a previous version.

Accessing History

The history for a given Entry is accessed by navigating to the "Actions" button on the main window.

In the event you do not have permission; the History field will be greyed out and unable to be selected:

Viewing History

Once you have created an Entry:

You can then navigate to it's History:

You should then have a window pop up that looks like the following:

Each Row represents an instance where the Entry is changed (or initially created). If you change just the password of an Entry, a single History row will be added. If you change every single field in the Edit window of the Entry and then click Save, a single row will be created in history with all the changes made. The History Table is used to store each Entrie's state or version, and allow you to see all the versions that exist since creation. If you would like to view what actions were taken or what specific changes were made from one version to the other (without continually changing between versions), you will need to refer to the Logging page.

 

You can also quickly access this page from within KeePass For Pleasant Password Server. Simply right-click an entry in KeePass and select "View History...". However, the restore function is not available when accessing the Credential History in this manner.

 

Show Details Menu

If you would like to view all the fields of an Entry at a given state; you must click on the Row and then, click on the Show Details menu in the bottom left. Should appear as something like the following:

You will be able to view all the applicable entry data at that given state. In the above example, at the selected row, it can be seen that the Entry Title was changed from "Demo Entry" to "Demo Entries". The Logging page would give greater details on who changed it and what actions were performed. You can use the Date Modified information to assist you in navigating the logs and finding when the Entry was altered.

For a further explaination click the link for information on the Restore Button.

History Limitations

History of Permissions and External Settings

While changes to security, notification and comment settings are tracked in a entries history, for security and consitency with permissions; the Security, Comments and Notification settings for an Entry are not affected nor saved by the History. These permissions and settings remain constant no matter what version the Entry is restored to.

History of Moved Entries

While credential history does keep track of when and where entries are moved to and from it does not tell you this information in the entry history.  Restoring an entry will not move it back to its previous location.

Deleting an Entry

After an Entry has been deleted, the History is not available anymore. It cannot be restored either.